# Lake Station Community Schools



# Board of School Trustees Meeting Wednesday, May 19, 2021

Minutes for the Regular Meeting with the Board of School Trustees of the Lake Station Community Schools held at Edison Jr. Sr. High School, 3304 Parkside Ave., Lake Station, Indiana at 7:00 p.m. Wednesday evening, May 19, 2021.

This meeting is a meeting of the School Board in public for conducting the School Corporation's business and is not to be considered a public community meeting. There will be time for public participation as indicated by agenda item for Public Comments. Due to COVID-19 social-distancing requirements in-person audience space is limited to thirty-five (35) persons, face masks required; the meeting will be available to watch livestreamed online.

Members Present: Ms. Curtis, Mr. Tenorio, Mr. Watts, Mr. Wright, Mr. Biggs

Members Absent: None

Others Present: Dr. Cripliver, Mr. Kurtz, Ms. Tauber

Ms. Curtis led the Pledge of Allegiance

Public Comments (3 Minute Limit) [Sign-In]

# Mr. Tenorio moved to approve the Consent Agenda. Seconded by Mr. Watts and unanimously carried.

AI	I.	Consent Agenda				
		1. Approval of Minutes	Minutes			
		a. Executive Session – April 21, 2021				
		<ul> <li>b. Executive Session – May 5, 2021</li> <li>c. Regular Board Meeting – April 21, 2021</li> </ul>				
		d. Special School Board Meeting – May 5, 2021				
		2. I mancial – I iscal	Claims			
		a. Approval of Claims 5	1/22/21- 5/19/21			
		i  April 30, 2021	Payroll 4/30/21 5/14/21			
		(See schedule 1 – attached)	Extra- Curricular Hiring			
		(See schedule 2 – attached)	Extra- Curricular Resignations			



II. Personnel

## Mr. Watts moved to approve item 1 under Personnel. Seconded by Mr. Wright and unanimously carried.

AI 1. Accept the following resignations: April Miller Cripliver – May 6, 2021 Michael Eshbach – June 30, 2021 Nancy Muniz – May 21, 2021

# Mr. Watts moved to approve item 2 under Personnel. Seconded by Mr. Tenorio and unanimously carried.

AI 2. Approve to hire the following staff members for summer school. Janice Burton – Teacher Camryn Linders – Teacher Elizabeth Oprisko – Teacher Stacey Graves – Paraprofessional Angela Lopez – Teacher Mia Kozel - Teacher

#### AI New Business

1.

## Mr. Tenorio moved to approve item 1 under New Business. Seconded by Mr. Wright with 4 ayes and 1 nay from Mr. Biggs, sighting safety and concealment concerns.

AI

Approve the revisions to the dress code recommended by the dress code committee and endorsed by the superintendent effective at the beginning of the 2021-2022 school year.

- V. Other Business
- IO Dr. Cripliver announced Edison Jr. Sr. High School was named one of the best high schools of 2021 by US News and World Report magazine.

Dr. Cripliver congratulated our 11 students who were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society at the Hammond Area Career Center.

## Finally, Dr. Cripliver announced the next board meeting date.

The next regular school board meeting is Wednesday, June 16, 2021 at Edison Jr. Sr. High School at 7:00 pm.



View the meeting online via Lake Station Community Schools' Facebook page or Zoom: Zoom Meeting: <u>https://niesc.zoom.us/j/91502933568</u> | Meeting ID: 915 0293 3568

The meeting site is accessible; any person requiring further accommodation(s) should contact Ellen Moss, at the Administration Center at least 48 hours in advance at 219-962-1159, ext. 103 or email to emoss@lakes.k12.in.us. TTY users may access the Relay Indiana Service by calling 711 or 1-800-743-3333.

# Schedule 1 School Extracurricular Assignment Hiring

Position	School	Name	Status	Through
Cross Country Coach – Assistant Volunteer)	Edison	Joanna Thompson	Teacher	11/30/2021
Football Coach – Assistant (Volunteer)	Edison	Epi Cruz	Maintenance	11/30/2021
Volleyball Coach – Head Varsity	Edison	Kelia Malone	Lay	11/30/2021

## Schedule 2 School Extracurricular Assignment Resignation

Position	School	Name	Status
Basketball Coach – Girls Assistant - Varsity	Edison	Kelia Malone	Lay
Cross Country Coach – Girl's/Boy's – Head Varsity	Edison	Joanna Thompson	Teacher

ATTEST:

President, Ms. Curtis

Vice President, Mr. Tenorio

Secretary, Mr. Watts

Member, Mr. Biggs

Member, Mr. Wright